MCHS Seniors Named Illinois State Scholars

Published: Tuesday, December 13th, 2016

Posted on December 13, 2016 - Minooka Community High School Principal Ron Kiesewetter is pleased to announce that 89 MCHS students from the graduating class of 2017 have been recognized as Illinois State Scholars.

The Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC), the state agency committed to helping to make college accessible and affordable for Illinois families, bestows this prestigious recognition to top Illinois high school students annually. This year, nearly 19,300 elite honorees join the other top state students honored for their academic achievements since the designation was first introduced in 1958. 

Illinois State Scholars possess strong academic potential and are chosen based on a combination of exemplary ACT or SAT test scores and sixth-semester class rank. State Scholars rank in approximately the top ten percent of high school seniors, representing 765 high schools across the state.

“Being named an Illinois State Scholar is one of the top academic honors a student can earn,” Kiesewetter said. “These students have clearly demonstrated a dedication to academic excellence. MCHS is proud of them and is fully confident they will continue their dedication to that excellence as they begin their college careers in the fall.”

The following Minooka Community High School students were named 2017-2018 Illinois State Scholars: Hailey Arlis, Brooke Avila, Brooke Bachmann, Chloe Bacza, Elizabeth Badalamenti, Gwen Barnes, Talia Bellia, Abigail Belluomini, Taylor Billie, Christopher Brandt, Anthony Brewer, Jacob Bugajski, Jonathan Butler, Adrian Cabral, Julian Cady, Skylar Callis, Anne Calonico, Brianna Campbell, Reed Christensen, Brandt Compton, Elizabeth Cook, Maya Cook, Carli Cortina, Elena Costa, Karlee Cox, Collin Decamp, Ashley Decraene, Casey Delaney, Hanna Dilday, Julie Dosher, Erin Dunn, Brooke Dykstra, Autumn Eales, Thomas Elliott, David Feigel, Amanda Gardner, Nathan Garner, Jacob Havard,  Christian Heldmarino, Thomas Heniff, Emily Himes, Abigail Holloway, Shalyn Horvat, Taylor House, Hailey Jermolowicz, Nicholas Juhnke, Alexandra Kaste, Danielle Kasuba, Kyle Knaub, Sarah Knight, Kyle Kobe, David Kostyra, Jackson Kraft, Anthony Krueger, Lydia Kurtz, Matthew Kurtz, Kyle Laite, Allison Lyman, Bailey Lyman, Jon-Carlo Manzo, Antonio Milazzo, Alec Mitcheff, Jenna Morgan, Madalyn Odette, Grant Olsen, Morgan Ondrick, Grant Ooms, Logan Pulido, Bailey Rath, Alexander Reynolds, Noah Reynolds, Tyler Richart, Matthew Robbins, Jose Rodriguez, Carmella Russell, Nikolas Saavedra, Samantha Schildhouse, Emily Shemash, Mackenzie Surdej, Ashley Tutt, Justin Tutt, Emma Valentino, Sydney Vogelsanger, Lauren Watts, Shelby Weathers, Walker Whalen, Jake Wilkinson, Emily Worden, and Lukas Wright.

While this distinguished recognition does not include a monetary prize, recipients are encouraged to cite the honor on applications for college admission and scholarships. In addition, students are urged to complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) as soon as possible after January 1, 2017. The FAFSA determines eligibility for federal and state aid.

ISAC offers free financial aid and college access events to assist students and families with the college-going process. Students can also visit the ISAC website and in particular the new ISAC Student Portal for college planning, financial aid and financial literacy information and free tools, as well as information on how to contact the ISACorps, a group of recent college graduates who act as near-peer mentors, for one-on-one assistance and mentoring. 

# # #