Senior Honors Night Celebrates the MCHS Class of 2017

Published: Wednesday, May 3rd, 2017

Posted on May 3, 2017 - Minooka Community High School recognized members of the MCHS Class of 2017 during a special evening of departmental awards, local scholarship announcements, and other presentations at the annual Senior Honors Night on April 18, 2017, in the MCHS - Central Campus Performing Arts Center.

Honorees for the evening included:


Art Department: Art Award - Krista Stawarz

Career and Technical Education Department: Agriculture Award - Hunter Brown; Business & Computer Science Award - Jack Sullivan; Family and Consumer Science Award  - Haley Boerema, and; Industrial Technology Award - Alexcis Nava

English Department: Academic Excellence in English Award - Hailey Jermolowicz, and Academic Improvement in English Award - Matthew Spalding

Mathematics Department: Best Calculus Student Award - Lauren Watts; Best Overall Math Student Award - Lauren Watts Best PreCalculus Student Award  - Alex Wojtowicz, and; Best PreCalculus Honors Student Award - Delaney Peeples

Music Department: The Robert William Rushton Award - Nathan Garner

Physical Education Department: Arrow Award - Zackary Kijowski and Ashley Tutt

Science Department: Top Science Student Award - Elena Costa

Social Studies Department: Outstanding Social Studies Student Award - Lauren Watts and Lydia Kurtz

World Languages Department: French IV Honors Award - Adam Bieker; Spanish IV Honors Award - Reed Christensen, and; Spanish V Honors Award - Madisyn Serr



Minooka American Legion Award: Jacob Bugajski and Alexandra Kaste

Daughters of the American Revolution Award: Maria Ruettiger

Rex Siron Award: Hailey Arlis and Jonathan Butler

12-Sport Athlete Award: Hailey Arlis, Brooke Lynn Bachmann and Jacob Bugajski



Allison Rivera Memorial Literary Scholarship: Abigail Boland

Allison Rivera Memorial Science Scholarship: Brooke Dykstra

Channahon Federation of Teachers Scholarship: Bailey Lyman

Channahon Lions Club Scholarship: Natasha Bills, Allison Lyman and Jose Rodriguez

Channahon/Minooka Chamber Scholarship: Hunter Nelson

Channahon/Minooka Rotary Club: Elizabeth Badalamenti, Isabella Cernetich, Lauren Heafey, Hailey Jermolowicz and Zackary Kijowski

Minooka Choir Booster Music Scholarship: Nathan Garner and Corbyn Holman

Exelon Nuclear Scholarship: Abigail Holloway

Flint Hills Resources Discovery Scholarship: Lauren Watts

“I’m with the (Marching) Band” Scholarship: Abigail Holloway

Jean McCoy Memorial Nursing Scholarship: Brianna Specht

JJC High School Foundation Scholarship: Kyle Kobe

Dr. John J. & Mildred Brinckerhoff Coady Scholarship: Lydia Kurtz

Kathleen Kenney Memorial Education Scholarship: Abigail Belluomini and Walker Whalen

Mark Smith Legacy Foundation Scholarship: Hanna Dilday

#SmithStrong Track & Field Scholarship: Brennan Loughran

Martha A. Slyter Elementary Education Scholarship: Hanna Dilday and Jaclynne Martinez

Mary Pat Collins Memorial Scholarship: Jaclynne Martinez

Masonic Mazon Lodge Scholarship: Rebecca Cerza

Michael Mizerka Legacy Scholarship: Anthony Fazio

Minooka Indian Athletic Booster Scholarship: Jack Bauer, Jacob Bugajski, Zackary Kijowski, Antonio Milazzo, Hailey Arlis, Abigail Holloway, Allison Lyman and Bailey Lyman

Minooka Lacrosse Scholarship: Abigail Holloway and Logan Pulido

Minooka Lions Club Scholarship: Madalyn O’Dette, Lydia Kurtz, Hanna Dilday, Hailey Jermolowicz, Taylor Billie, Bailey Lyman, Morgan Gierman, Tyler Richart, Logan O’Brien, Lauren Heafey, Zackary Kijowski, Anne Calonico, Jon-Carlo Manzo, Lauren Watts, Rebecca Cerza, Shalyn Horvat and Emily Worden

Minooka Women’s Club Scholarship: Elizabeth Badalamenti, Abigail Belluomini, Taylor Billie, Natasha Bills, Anne Calonico, Elena Costa, Erin Dunn, Brooke Dykstra, Allison Lyman, Delaney Peeples and  Lauren Watts

Rezin “Heart & Ambition” Scholarship: Maria Ruettiger

Rotary Club of Shorewood Scholarship: Chloe Bacza, Reed Christensen, Elena Costa and Lauren Watts

Shawn Capodice Memorial Scholarship: Maria Ruettiger

Shorewood HUGS Scholarship: Anne Calonico

St. Mary’s Church Scholarship: Isabella Cernetich, Shalyn Horvat, Jacqueline Sekula, Casey Delaney, Peter Klepec, Timmothy Luu, Maria Ruettiger, Jillian Russell and Victoria House

The Private Bank Scholarship: Monica Delgado and Hunter Nelson

Will County Farm Bureau Scholarship: Alex Wojtowicz

Simotes Motors Family Scholarships: Baseball - Logan O’Brien, Boys Basketball - Antonio Milazzo, Football - Walker Whalen, Girls Basketball - Abigail Holloway and Volleyball - Kamryn Johnson

A total of 94 local scholarships worth $78,000 were awarded at Senior Honors Night. MCHS sincerely thanks each of the local organizations, groups, and businesses that have shown their support of MCHS seniors by offering a local scholarship.

# # #